Intro to my blog!

1

October 1, 2012 by sarahmortonisp

Hello,

My name is Sarah Morton, I am in Mrs. Bachus 1st block TAG English class, and this blog is devoted to my Independent Study Project. The fields of study of my ISP are Education and Psychology (specifically developmental psychology). My topic to be explored is: How to create the ideal elementary school (2nd/3rd grade) classroom using psychologically sound principles. 

The reason I chose this topic is that, at this point in my life, I am fairly sure I want to become an elementary school teacher. I am also very interested in psychology. My resources will be typically books and the internet. I do have access to a college textbook, however. It is titled Development through the Lifespan (5th edition) by Laura E. Berk, in which developmental psychology, even specifically through education, is discussed in detail. I also have a job where-when I have an off period (every white day)-I pick a 3rd grade girl named Kacy up from Hill Elementary and watch her until her parents come home. I could probably set up a meeting, sit in on a class, or even just exchange emails with her teacher, Mrs. Frye.

For this project, I chose my sister Hana to be my mentor. The reason for this is that she is in graduate school at St. Edwards University right now for psychology (she is the one whose textbook I have). She has taken multiple developmental psychology courses, giving her the ability to mentor me if I have questions about the material. Also, she lives with me, so I can meet with her at almost any time. I am looking forward to this project, and I think it will be very beneficial to my future career choice!

-Sarah Morton

* Credit for my background image goes to: http://www.playingmom.com/tag/elementary-school/

One thought on “Intro to my blog!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

